Keke’s Breakfast Cafe (Carrollwood, FL)

IMG_6446

Today I finally ventured into Keke’s Breakfast Cafe in Carrollwood, FL. For those of you familiar with the area, you may know this cafe, but however, if you’re not familiar with the area, you may not know this place exists. It is located in a plaza next to Fletcher Ave, which also contains a Bed Bath and Beyond, Fresh Market, etc. I’ve seen this cafe many times but have always forgotten to try it out until yesterday when one of the girls I work with brought up that she had eaten there recently. She told me how good it was and that I should try it out. This morning I woke up after having slept at my friends house, and told her I wanted to go to Keke’s for breakfast. This particular friend and I are breakfast people. We both LOVE breakfast foods. Keke’s is at the end of the plaza but is somewhat hidden. It’s pretty small and quaint which is nice. When we got there, it was pretty busy. Only two or three open tables, but we were seated right away. There was a mix of customers. Young college students wearing USF attire, older couples, and middle aged women. The menu was a decent size although I think personally they should expand their coffee selection. But this is coming from someone who is a caffeine addict. I got an iced coffee and my friend got an orange juice. The coffee was pretty good, and I was pleasantly surprised. Our server you could tell, was new. He didn’t have too much knowledge on the menu but was very friendly. I myself am a server so I am very understanding of those types of things. I ordered a chocolate chip waffle with bacon and home fries. My friend ordered 3 “Florida” pancakes, which had strawberries and blueberries on top. She also ordered a side of home fries. When the food came out, my friends three pancakes were MONSTROUS, as you can probably tell from the picture. But she said they were delicious. My waffle was also delicious, and had the perfect amount of chocolate chips. I like chocolate, but I hate when places overdo it. My favorite part though was definitely the home fries. I liked them the most because they weren’t actually fried and they tasted fresh which I love.
Overall I had a great experience at Keke’s Breakfast Cafe. The whole staff was friendly, the food was excellence and the service was very good as well. Definitely a place to check out!

Leave a Reply

