Hard Choices

Lately I have been feeling like I’m stuck in a rut. I hated my serving job, so I quit. But now, I have no money. Living off one part time job is almost impossible. I had to ask my family for help with rent last month and I know I’m going to have to ask for help again this month. I’ve been looking to get another serving job. I hate serving, but I honestly feel like if I find a place where I like my manager and co-workers, I wouldn’t mind. Like working at Barnes and Noble. I HATE the customers at Barnes and Noble. They’re all so entitled and rude. But I LOVE my managers and my co-workers. They’re my second family. If I found a serving job like that, I wouldn’t mind. On top of the money issues, I’m trying to decide what to do with my future. I want to go back to school, but for what? and where? My boyfriend wants to move in together and says he’ll move wherever I want to live. Is that a good choice? I love him, but we haven’t even been together for a year yet and since our relationship is long distance, it has consisted of texting, face timing, and week long visits to see each other. I don’t know if we’re ready to jump into living together. But everyone I’ve talked to about it tells me just to jump and move in with him. I’ve really been thinking that I want to move to New York. Somewhere outside the city. Only 4 hours from my home town but still far enough away. But could we afford it? I can transfer to a Barnes and Noble up there and I’m sure it wouldn’t be hard to find a serving job there.. But would I be able to attend school as well? New York is the place to be for writing careers which is what I’ve been thinking about doing. I love to write and I would love for it to be my job. It’s so hard to figure these things out. Part of me feels like I’m too young to be worrying about this, but part of me feels like it’s time to start really figuring this out. I just need help, advice, anything. I just want to be happy, but I also want to be comfortable.

Leave a Reply

