Adding to my blog – Skin Care

When I initially started this blog, I did want it to be a fashion/beauty/lifestyle blog. Lately I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what I want to do with my social media situation, because I’ve been trying and failing to make fashion/beauty/lifestyle vlogs on my YouTube channel. I think writing has always been the better outlet for me. So, I’m FINALLY going to start making this blog about beauty and fashion, as well as continuing my lifestyle posts. So today I have decided to write about my skin care routine.
Just a little background on my skin…
I have combination oily, acne prone skin. I’ve struggled with acne for about six years now, and when I say struggle, I don’t mean lights, hormonal, occasional breakouts. I mean deep, painful, cystic, acne that ALWAYS leaves scaring. In high school, my skin was my biggest insecurity and I NEVER left the house without makeup on. At that time, I didn’t know much about skin care either, so I didn’t know how to help my skin on my own. I would cry to my mother about how bad my skin was, and it prevented me from doing to much in my teenage years. I literally break out from everything. What I eat, skin care products, stress, and of course, hormones. My senior year of high school I finally saw a dermetologist who prescribed me a few things for my skin. Only two things worked. Birth control, and a on the spot treatment that I only use every now and then. Birth control worked for about a year and a half before I started breaking out pretty bad again. Now, I’m 21, and I’m finally learning exactly what’s causing my acne and how to really get rid of most of it. So I’m going to talk to you guys about how I’ve pretty much cleared up my skin. Don’t get me wrong, I still break out if I eat the wrong thing, or it’s that time of month, but for the most part, I have it under control. So first lets start with my everyday cleanser.

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 11.30.04 AM

I’ve been using this cleanser for about four years now and I swear by it. There’s no frills or scents to this cleanser, it just does its job. If I’m washing my makeup off with this, I’ll use it once to get all my makeup off, and then one more time to really clean my skin. You can find this at the drug store or Ulta.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 11.46.57 AM

This is a relatively new product to my skin care routine. It was suggested to me by a friend. After I have cleansed my face and I’ve let the steam from my shower open up my pores, I apply a tiny amount of coconut oil all over my face. At first, I was very skeptical about putting an oil on my face. I thought for sure it would break me out more. But it did not. It not only helps with my acne, but it changes the entire texture of my face. It makes my face soft and naturally moisturized. It’s amazing and it’s natural. Not only that but coconut oil has to many beneficial uses.

I got the Clarisonic Mia 2 for Christmas my senior year of high school and I have sworn by it ever since. I got the one for acne prone skin, and not only does it help with my acne, but it also gives an amazing deep, exfoliating clean that also helps fade acne scars. It is on the pricier side, but it’s definitely worth the money.

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 11.36.35 AM

When I get out of the shower, I use this tea tree toner from The Body Shop. It’s meant for acne prone skin and cleans up anything I missed in the shower. It is very strong and drying so I suggest moisturizing right after, but it has done wonders for my skin.

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 11.38.32 AM

Speaking of moisturizing, this is the moisturizer I’ve been using for years and another product I swear by. Any Cetaphil brand product, is a good product. This moisturizer is for dry, sensitive skin, which I don’t have, but because I use a lot of drying products for my acne, I like to use a heavy moisturizer. If you don’t know, when you use a lot of drying products on your skin, your skin tries to over compensate for that by producing more oil. So it is important that your face is moisturized at all times, even if you have oily skin.

That is all for my actual skin care routine. However, there are a few other things I would like to mention that have contributed to my skin clearing up.

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 11.51.04 AM

Now, you may or may not have already heard about this CC cream. This is honestly the BEST foundation I have ever used. It’s light weight but build able. It’s a CC cream, so it corrects your skin over time. It’s got anti aging and SPF in it. I makes my skin feel amazing and like I’m wearing barely any makeup. I apply it with a damp beauty blender. It is without a doubt one of the best makeup products I have ever used and I highly, highly, recommend it to everyone.

But the MAIN REASON for my skin clearing up, actually has to due with my diet. It is NOT EATING DAIRY. These days, it’s a well known fact that eating a vegan diet will help clear up your skin. I, personally, could not eat a strictly vegan diet. However, I have cut dairy out of my diet almost completely, and it is what REALLY help my skin clear up. It’s honestly amazing to see how much my skin has cleared up from that alone, and if you are struggling with cystic, painful acne like I was, I suggest giving this a try. You won’t regret it.

One thought on “Adding to my blog – Skin Care

Leave a Reply

