Accutane Prep

I haven’t talked about Accutane a ton on here, but I wanted to do a post, based off information I have found online, about an Accutane survival guide. I will be starting Accutane in a little under a month, and I wanted to be prepared to battle all the side effects that come with the medication.
For a little background on my acne struggle…
I have oily/combination, acne prone skin. I have had cystic acne for the past 5 years and have tried everything to get rid of it. I’m been on birth control for my acne, antibiotics, eating clean, drinking a ton of water, all natural skin care routine, I’ve tried almost every product for acne out there, and NOTHING has worked. I’m now 21 years old, and I still have pretty severe acne and scarring, and I’m ready to be done with it and finally feel comfortable in my own skin. I recently had my Accutane consultation with my dermatologist, and he agreed that it was the only thing that’s really going to help me.
Before my consultation, I did a ton of research on Accutane. I did online research on Google, and I looked up a ton of Accutane review videos, and took all the information about side effects I learned, and looked up products to counter balance them. The MAJOR side effect is dryness. This dryness happens EVERYWHERE on your body. The whole point of Accutane, is to suck all the oil out of your body to prevent acne, so most of these products are geared towards that.
Hair-
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-1-00-03-pm
Even without Accutane, I have a pretty dry scalp. I don’t have dandruff, but my scalp is dry, so I can only imagine how my scalp will be once I’m on Accutane. I have been using Head and Shoulders for a while now, and while it hasn’t cured my dry scalp, it has helped a lot and keeps it from itching. This is going to be helping me a lot while on Accutane, to keep my dry scalp and bay, and it’s inexpensive. I know that Head and Shoulders is not the best for hair itself, but it’ll be until I’m done Accutane.
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-1-11-04-pm
I’m not a person who washes my hair a lot to begin with. I normally wash it 1-2 times a week. When I’m on Accutane, that probably won’t change. When I do wash my hair, I will be using this Redken product as much conditioner. It’s a leave in treatment for after shampooing. I was looking for a good leave in treatment, and this one got the best reviews. I will need something to keep my hair soft and hydrated while on medication.
Face-
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-1-27-10-pm
For an everyday cleanser, I will be using this Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. When on Accutane, your skin is SUPER sensitive. So I wanted to go with a more gentle cleanser. I love the Cetaphil brand, and it’s never let me down. I plan to still wear makeup while on this medication, so I will double cleanse with this. Once to remove makeup, and once to actually cleanse.
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-1-35-31-pm
After cleansing, I will be using the Simple Soothing Facial Toner. I wanted a toner with no alcohol, and I always try to go for more natural face products when I can. I have always heard good things about the Simple skin care products, and I just wanted a toner that was.. well simple I guess.
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-1-38-29-pm
After toner, I will be using the Cetaphil DailyAdvance Ultra Hydrating Skin Lotion. I use this lotion now and I have been using it for years. It is my absolute favorite. It’s thick and soothing on my skin and leaves it feeling soft and plump. I apply a shit ton (actual unit of measurement) to my face and I leave it on until it soaks in, and then I massage the rest in. It is the most moisturizing lotion in my opinion.
Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 2.52.52 PM
When on Accutane, they recommend only exfoliating once every 1-2 weeks. This is because since your skin is so dry and sensitive, exfoliating too much can be harmful. But if you don’t exfoliate, the dead skin can build up. I will be using this NUDE Skincare Detox Powder wash. It is a LIGHT exfoliator thats perfect for once a week, and has a few different vitamins in it to help with healthy skin.
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-1-50-34-pm
Once or twice a week, I will be using this GlamGlow ThirstyMud Hydrating Treatment. It’s a super hydrating product that can be used as a mask or and overnight treatment. It has amazing reviews, and the GlamGlow line never fails.
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-1-55-04-pm
A lot of people have said their lips dry out the most when on Accutane, so it is important to still exfoliate them, again once a week. This is my all time favorite lip scrub, and it’s all natural which makes it even better.
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-2-01-30-pm
For moisturizing my lips, I will definitely be using my all time favorite lip balm, Carmex. I love the kind in the stick, because it’s easiest to use. It has SPF 15 which is amazing, and it looks glossy on the lips which adds a nice touch. It is the absolute best lip balm out there. Super thick and hydrating.
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-2-04-45-pm
A common reported side effect is bloody noses from a dry nose. A lot of people recommended putting Aquaphor or Vaseline in your nostrils to help prevent this. I personally favor Aquaphor, because I have tattoos, and I have always used Aquaphor to help them heal and it never fails me. As weird as it sounds, I will be putting a little bit of this in my nose twice a day to keep my nose hydrated and prevent bleeding.
Body-
screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-2-08-13-pm
For a body moisturizer, I will be using is this on by Kiehls. I have this in the hand lotion version and it is the best lotion I’ve ever used. I know the body version is the best choice to fight the dry skin caused by Accutane. This is an intensive moisturizer and will definitely do the job.
I will definitely be doing a follow up once I start Accutane and start using these products, to let you guys know how everything is working out for me. In addition to these products, I will also be drinking a TON of water and I will be making sure I have Advil handy at all times, seeing as Accutane has been known to cause headaches. I will also be doing monthly updates on my side effects. Stay tuned! Let me know if you have any questions or comments for me!

Leave a Reply

