I just want to be happy

As much as I dislike being back in New Hampshire and almost everything about living here, one good thing has come of it, and that’s finding what it actually best for me and who I want to be as an adult. As a millennial, I constantly see my generation being criticized for having a sense of entitlement and unrealistic views of what life should be like. There are some cases with certain people where I can definitely see that. But I think I’m starting to see a different view as well.

Maybe this seems like an unrealistic view of life to some people, but I just want to be happy and healthy in my life, no matter what I need to do to get there. People act like just wanting to be happy is a crime. But I don’t expect anything from the world to get me there. The universe doesn’t owe me anything. It’s up to me and the choices I make to be happy.

Being back in NH, I started back to school, and as much as I love that I’m finishing my education and getting school done, I still am not happy about it. I wondered why for a long time, until I finally realized it’s because of a couple reasons.
1. The school I go to is 30 mins away from my house and the drive makes me super unmotivated to go to school and I spend a ton on gas.
2. I’m 22 years old in classes with 18, 19, and 20 year olds and of course they’re still in that immature phase in their life and they are irritating to listen to.
3. I’m not a public speaker, and I hate having to participate in class discussions. This is why I am a writer.

Finally it dawned on me that when my boyfriend and I move back to FL, I need to just go to school online only. This way I don’t have to drive anywhere, or deal with other people, or feel overwhelmed by everything. I can finish my schooling from the comfort of my home. SNHU has one of the best online programs in the country so I’ve decided to apply there and see how it goes.

But back to being happy… Wanting to be happy doesn’t make me entitled. A lot of older generations say millennials are entitled because we immediately expect to be at the top without putting in any work, and while that may be true for some, it’s not for me. I don’t mind being at the bottom and working hard to make my way up, as long as I’m happy at the bottom. As long as I enjoy my job at the bottom.
Currently I am a server at a fine dining restaurant, and as much as I hate being a server, I love my job. I love my coworkers and the work environment, and it’s definitely good money, so I’m happy. And now that I have a goal to work towards, it makes me feel better about being a server because it’s kind of like I’m paying my dues, and that’s okay with me.

Being happy isn’t over rated and unrealistic like a lot of people make it out to be. What makes me happy might not make someone else happy and vice versa, but that’s okay. We all have to find our own happiness. If you don’t like your job and it makes you miserable even in your home life, quit. If you don’t like the school you go to or your major, change it. If your friends are dragging you down and stressing you out, find new ones. Almost everything in your life is under your control. You just have to realize that a change needs to be made and you have to find the strength to step out of your comfort zone in order to be happy.

So that’s my motivational post for today. I am just feeling good today and I wanted to make sure I spread my inspiration and motivation so maybe other people can feel good and in control.
Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

