Post Accutane Feeling

I think the biggest thing about having severe acne isn’t necessarily the way it looks, but the way it makes you feel. You feel so insecure and almost lesser than people who have nice skin. Having acne makes you insecure. It especially made me feel that way. I was always looking in the mirror and making sure my spots were still covered. I had to carry makeup with me almost always so I could touch up. Even if my makeup looked flawless, I didn’t feel good about myself. When I took my makeup off, it was even worse. In my high school years, I wouldn’t leave the house without makeup. I was even sometimes embarrassed for my family to see me if my skin was particularly bad at the time. I loaded makeup onto my face. It prevented me from going to social event, and even basic things like looking people in the eyes. I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t even look at myself in the mirror. I felt so insecure and like I would never be comfortable in my own skin.

Today, I NEVER think about my skin. With or without makeup, it doesn’t matter to me. I feel good and strong and I worry a whole lot less. I almost prefer not to have makeup on now. It’s amazing to take my makeup off after a long day and still feel confident. I can look people in the eye and I smile a lot more. I’m more okay with getting my picture taken and I feel good in my own skin. I still take really good care of my skin when it comes to my skin care routine, don’t get my wrong, but I don’t actually have to stress myself out over it anymore. My skin is smooth and after my scarring is gone, it will be totally clear.

Bottom line is going on accutane was the best thing i’ve ever done for myself. It has made me feel like I can be more myself and I’m happier. I just wanted to get this message out there because I know a lot of people struggle with acne but aren’t sure if accutane is for them. If you’re ready to be comfortable in your own skin and feel better about yourself, I highly highly recommend. Everyones experience is different, and I struggled a lot while on it, but I’d do it all over again just to be at this point.

Leave a Reply

