Interior Design Series

I’ve been interested in interior design for a few years now, and sometimes I think it’s something I’d like to do as a career. Other times I see it as more of just a hobby. Currently, we live in an apartment that we will be moving out of soon, so I don’t put any effort into decorating it because then we will have a bunch of extra stuff to move down to Florida with and we’re trying to keep it as minimal as possible. I’m super excited to decorate our next place and have been working on some designs and styles for it. I thought today that I’d be cool to share my ideas online so you guys can get a better idea of my style and taste when it comes to decor and home goods. So today, I’m sharing my first finished home design ever.

This design was the first one I ever did that I REALLY liked. Keep in mind I DO NOT make up the floor plans. I take real floor plans from online and just design the inside of them.

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.44.24 PMThis is what you would see when you first walked in. Kitchen immediately to the right, a spiral stair leading up to the loft just behind that with a little open space where you could put a dining table, but I personally prefer just and island with barstools, beyond that would be the living room, and the door all the way to the left is the bedroom. Next to that door is another which leads to the bathroom.Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.45.44 PM
This would be the view from just in front of the living room. To the right is the entrance of the home, a large kitchen with a tall window, and lots of cabinet and counter space. To the far left is another tall window with lots of plants, and next to those is the spiral stairs.Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.46.28 PM
Here you can see the three sections perfectly. Starting right, kitchen, staircase/dining area, and then the beginning of the living room.
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.46.52 PM
Here’s a close up of the plants behind the stairs bc I love them!
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.47.11 PM
Here is the view of the living room from the end of the kitchen. As you’ve probably noticed, I’m not a huge color person. I like a lot of neutrals, but I love the cozy tropical look. I added lots of plants to the browns and grays, and a large painting of what looks like tropical plants with a ocean blue background.
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.47.39 PM
View from the couch looking at the tv. First door on the left is the bedroom door and the door partially cut off is the bathroom.
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.48.03 PM
View from the TV looking at the couches. A small crate for blankets, more plants, candles, a buddha head, and the sliding doors to what would be a porch/patio.
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.48.39 PM
This is the master bedroom. Most times when I design apartments, I keep my boyfriend in mind and don’t like to make it too girly. I like to make it something we can both enjoy. You can see I kept the neutrals and added more plants and s banana leaf pillow. There’s also two pet beds, one for my cat, and a future dog. A cute boho rug and definitely a ceiling fan because I always imagine these places in warmer climates.
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.49.19 PM
This is the view of the bathroom from the common area entrance. There is also an entrance from the master bedroom. I kept it very white because I like when it feels clean, with just a few touches of color. Again, greens and plants. Very basic things in the bathroom.
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.49.54 PM
From the master bedroom entrance.
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 1.50.39 PMThis is an overview of the layout and rooms. The smaller empty room would be a walk-in closet, but I didn’t do anything in there because it’d really just be clothing shelves and racks. I also never got around to actually doing the loft portion of this apartment.

I hope you all enjoyed this post. I have more to share if I get good feedback on this one! I am also thinking of maybe doing these FOR people who have a hard time with interior design and need some guidelines maybe? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

